top of page

Let's Breath Together

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

The Practice

Learning the sequence was like receiving one's first gift - a new world had opened. Life would never be the same, beauty had entered and it would continue to blossom.

" Learning the series was like receiving your first gift - a new world had opened up. Life would never be the same, beauty had entered and would continue to flourish. »

[Derek Ireland]


The practice of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, as taught by Guru Shri K. Pattabhi Jois, his son Manju Jois, his grandson Sharath and all the older teachers, includes postures (asana), chants (mantra) and philosophy.

Basics of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga

The following are aspects that Pattabhi Jois highlights as the main ingredients of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga:

Vinyasa: Vinyasa means breathing and movement system. For every movement, there is a breath. For example, in the sun salute (Surya Namaskar A) there are nine vinyasas. The first vinyasa is inhalation as you raise your hands above your head and join your palms together. The second is exhaling while doing forward bends, placing your hands next to your feet, etc. In this way a certain number of vinyasas are assigned to all postures (asana).

Tristhana: Refers to the three points of attention or action: posture, breathing and the focus of the gaze. These three are very important for the practice of yoga and include three levels of cleansing: the body, the nervous system and the mind. They are always performed in combination with each other.


Asana: Asanas cleanse, strengthen and give flexibility to the body. Breathing is puraka and rechaka, that is, inhalation and exhalation. Both inhalation and exhalation should be steady and uniform; the length of inhalation should be the same as that of exhalation. Breathing in this way cleanses the nervous system.


Drishti: is where you look while you are in the asana. There are nine drishti: the nose, the area between the eyebrows, the navel, the thumb, the arms, the legs, the top, the right and the left. The drishti cleanses and stabilizes the function of the mind.

Bandha: An important element of breathing is the mula and the uddiyana bandha. These are the locks of the pelvic floor and the lower abdominal area that "seal" the energy, give lightness, strength and health to the body, helping to create a strong internal fire. Without the bandhas, breathing will not be right and asanas will offer no benefit. When the mula bandha is perfect, mind control is automatic.

bottom of page